Northern Quarter Restaurant and Bar Express Menu

It was Saturday, and we were heading into town to watch a 6pm film at Home, and fancied a light dinner out beforehand.

After a bit of a sniff about on Tripadvisor, we decided on the Northern Quarter Restaurant and Bar. Partly because we’ve both been before and loved it, but also because they have a brilliant Express Menu – 2 courses for £14.95 or 3 courses for £18.95.

4.15pm is an early dinner, but it meant that it was quite a calm, quiet time in the restaurant, which is always rather nice on a busy Saturday in town.

We only went for two courses.  Much as I would have liked a pudding, I was fixated on having a tub of ice-cream at the cinema, so held off.

Jamie had a pale ale rarebit with Goosnargh duck egg and I chose Brixham crab cakes.  Both were delicious and the presentation was lovely too.

Pale ale rarebit with Goosnargh duck egg
Brixham crab cakes

And for mains, I decided to go carb-less with a flat iron steak and a salad and Jamie chose Goan chicken, Asian slaw and chips.  I’m not a massive red meat eater, but the steak was a triumph – very melty and tasty.  Obviously I had to test Jamie’s chicken too, which was succulent and full of flavour.

Flat iron steak
Goan chicken

All in all it was great value for money and a lovely way to spend a wet and windy Saturday afternoon.  The venue is really chilled, unpretentious and classy and I love the large glass windows which look onto the old Smithfield fish markets. I don’t go back to many restaurants, because I always like to be finding new spots to write about, but this place is worth breaking that rule for.

2 thoughts on “Northern Quarter Restaurant and Bar Express Menu

  1. My list of restaurants in Manchester (and slightly further afield) just keeps on growing! Weirdly whenever we decide to go anywhere, I always have a mind-blank and then start researching far too many online. I have a feeling I’ll need to add the NQ restaurant & bar to my list – if anything, especially for that steak!

    Like

Leave a comment